Nema FX in SENEGAL at the Oath of Office ceremony

Senegal celebrates peaceful transfer of power

NemaFX in Senegal It was a great thrill to be part of the press at the Oath of Office ceremony of the Senegal President Macky Sall, who won the presidential election last February 24th.

Sall becomes Senegal's fourth president, and he is the country's first leader to be born since independence from France in 1960. At 50, he is 35 years younger than the outgoing president and campaigned on those youthful credentials.

The ceremony, as reported by the Senegalese press, is attended by 11 African Heads of State: Muhammadu Buhari (Nigeria), Sahle Work-Zewde (Ethiopia), Paul Kagame (Rwanda), Andriy Rajoelina (Madagascar), Roch March Kaboré (Burkina Faso), Adama Barrow (Gambia), Alassane Ouattara (Ivory Coast), George Weah (Liberia), Denis Sassou-Nguesso (Republic of the Congo), Ibrahim Boubakar Keita (Mali), Mahamadou Issoufou (Niger)